EAN is coordinated by a Steering Group comprising one nominated institute-member per country. Currently, 20 countries are represented: Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the UK. The technical and administrative management of EAN is ensured by a Coordination Team, composed of CEPN (Centre d'études pour l'Evaluation de la Protection dans le domaine Nucléaire, France) and PHE (Public Health England, United-Kingdom) staff members.

The Steering Group members may be any type of stakeholder concerned with radiation protection. The Steering Group decides the work programme and planning of the network activities; in particular it takes decisions on:

  • The topics for the ALARA Workshops
  • The contents of the ALARA Newsletters and EAN Website
  • The selection of topical issues or events relevant to European radiation protection practices,
  • The selection of topics for establishing sub-networks or working groups,
  • The policy for publication or any other form of dissemination of the results of the work of EAN.

Several countries have decided to financially support EAN coordination, while others will support specific EAN actions such as Workshops. Those institutes financially supporting the coordination of EAN are members of the EAN association Administrative Board as well as the Coordination Team. A close link with the European Commission is pursued through the support of sub-networks in several domains of concern (Non Destructive Testing, NORM, medical…). In addition, the International Atomic Energy Agency  (IAEA) supports the participation of representatives from non-EAN countries to EAN workshops and agreements are set up with IAEA to co-operate, and ultimately merge with another network of Eurasian countries.

The cooperation with other networks with interests in the practical implementation of ALARA is encouraged. Thus EAN has established formal cooperation agreements with the following organisations :

  • The European Federation of Non-Destructive Testing (EFNDT),
  • The European Federation of Organisations for Medical Physics (EFOMP),
  • The European Federation of Radiographer Societies (EFRS).